Mystic City by Theo Lawrence Review: Star-crossed lovers make it through

December 9, 2012 by Jeann @ Happy Indulgence | 4 stars, Books, Reviews

Mystic City by Theo Lawrence Review: Star-crossed lovers make it throughMystic City by Theo Lawrence
Series: Mystic City #1
Published by Delacorte Books on October 9, 2012
Source: Publisher
Genres: Dystopian, Fantasy, Young Adult
Amazon | Book Depository
Add to Goodreads

For fans of  Matched, The Hunger Games, X-Men, and Blade Runner comes a tale of a magical city divided, a political rebellion ignited, and a love that was meant to last forever. Book One of the Mystic City Novels.

Aria Rose, youngest scion of one of Mystic City's two ruling rival families, finds herself betrothed to Thomas Foster, the son of her parents' sworn enemies. The union of the two will end the generations-long political feud - and unite all those living in the Aeries, the privileged upper reaches of the city, against the banished mystics who dwell below in the Depths.

But Aria doesn't remember falling in love with Thomas; in fact, she wakes one day with huge gaps in her memory. And she can't conceive why her parents would have agreed to unite with the Fosters in the first place.

Only when Aria meets Hunter, a gorgeous rebel mystic from the Depths, does she start to have glimmers of recollection - and to understand that he holds the key to unlocking her past. The choices she makes can save or doom the city - including herself.

Aria Rose is the daughter of one of the ruling families in Mystic City engaged to Thomas, the son of the rival ruling family. With an upcoming election, their marriage is the perfect way to unite the humans against mystics, humans with magical powers who are drained of their powers. The only problem with the engagement, is that Aria has overdosed on Sic, a mystic-infused drug causing her to forget her entire relationship with Thomas.

As Aria pieces her memory together, she meets Hunter, a handsome rebel mystic who she’s instantly attracted to. She uncovers a political battle between her family and the mystics, and finds that everything may not be as it seems as her family will do anything to win the election.

I quite enjoyed the lies and the deception within Mystic City, and it was interesting following Aria’s story as she unveiled her memories. You find that her memory loss is very targeted towards her relationship with Thomas, and the real secrets behind her Sic overdose are really easy to spot from a mile away. There were enough elements of the story to keep me going however, such as her star-crossed romance with Hunter and the rebel mystics. The mystics were very Xmen-like, with each having their different powers.

The author has a whimsical, romantic way of writing that really brings this world alive in your head. His vivid descriptions paint the struggle between the cast out mystics and how they are using their powers for a rebellion. Aria is also a strong heroine, smart, determined and courageous. Reading about how her family has treats her is quite shocking, such as how her ruthless father continually puts a gun to her head.

The only reason why I wouldn’t rate this 5 stars, is the political struggle is fairly typical of all the dystopians of late, such as Matched, Hunger Games, Divergent. There’s also elements of Romeo and Juliet here. If you enjoy those other stories, chances are you’ll enjoy this as well.

I was given a review copy of Mystic City from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Rating: 4 out of 5

The following two tabs change content below.
Jeann is an Aussie blogger, gamer, reader who loves to read, write, fangirl, geek out and eat food. You can find me glued to one of my many mobile devices 24/7, or fangirling over the latest YA book, TV show, movie or game. Chat with me on Twitter @happyindulgence

Latest posts by Jeann @ Happy Indulgence (see all)

Tags: , , , , ,