5 Reasons to Read the Verity Fassbinder Series + AU Giveaway

August 14, 2018 by Jeann @ Happy Indulgence | 4 stars, Books, Giveaways, Reviews

5 Reasons to Read the Verity Fassbinder Series + AU Giveaway

Welcome to my blog tour stop for Restoration, the third book in the Verity Fassbinder series which is released today! Today I’m going to talk about why you should read this series which will cover some thoughts on each of the three books in the series so far. Stay tuned for the giveaway at the end!

1. Sarcastic, intelligent heroine who is between two worlds

Not only does Verity have to deal with the reputation of having a criminal for a father, she’s also half-Weyrd and half-human, which leads to a certain stigma. But it’s her ability to care for others so passionately, her fast charisma and ability to take things in her stride that leads her to building fast allies in the Weyrd world. She’s definitely never short on worlds and wisely quips, but she hides her compassion and insecurities behind her black humour and intelligent wit. Aside from the power of immense strength, she’s definitely as human as the rest of us.

2. Mysterious paranormal investigations

We first meet Verity working for the Weyrd Council as a paranormal private investigator, as she’s tasked with investigating Weyrd murders tinged with paranormal activity. Her investigations often lead her to a convoluted journey uncovering the mythology of different paranormal creatures and souls that need to be saved. Each book in this series is complex and multi-layered with the paranormal mythology, including angels, sirens, golems and witches. Through her investigations, she often uncovers secrets of her own past or that others want to keep hidden. I loved seeing where each journey takes us to its eventual conclusion.

3. Dry and witty humour

Where would we be without the witty, wry heroine Verity Fassbinder who finds something to quip at during every moment – whether it’s during her bloody murder investigations, when facing an evil Archangel or making alliances with the latest Weyrd-paranormal to hit the streets? Verity never failed to make me laugh during the most inopportune moments and it was really entertaining to read.

4. Strong focus on family

Each book has a strong family vein running through it – but not in the way you’d expect. When we first meet Verity in Virgil, she’s coping with the prejudices that she faces with a displaced childhood where her father betrayed her and his community. The plot is focused on children going missing, and she’s extremely protective of them, not wanting a repeat of her past. The second is about Verity being pregnant while navigating the Weyrd underwood, with the heavy theme of family and motherhood, and recognising that not everyone is perfect. With Restoration, Verity is more certain than ever about her own family, but she is now left exposed after having her own child. It was great to see how the plot strongly tied in together with her journey to motherhood.

5. The setting in Brisbane, Australia

This is the first paranormal that I’ve read set in my own home-town, so seeing all the landmarks from where Verity frequents to the descriptions of landmarks and suburbs was extremely satisfying. After reading so many urban fantasies that are set in the US, it was fascinating seeing one that is so familiar to me transformed into a supernatural underworld where angels and paranormals frequent. From the University of Queensland used as a knowledge centre, to the Little Venice cafe as a hang out spot, to various other suburbs and landmarks being described, I loved seeing the author’s interpretation of them.

Thank you to Quercus Books and Hachette Australia for the review copies!

The Verity Fassbinder series

5 Reasons to Read the Verity Fassbinder Series + AU GiveawayVigil by Angela Slatter
Series: Verity Fassbinder #1
Published by Hachette Australia, Quercus on July 12, 2016
Source: Publisher
Genres: Paranormal, Urban Fantasy
Amazon | Book Depository | Publisher | Booktopia
Add to Goodreads

From award-winning author Angela Slatter comes her first full length novel, VIGIL, where the normal and the 'weyrd' combine on the streets of Brisbane.

Verity Fassbinder has her feet in two worlds. The daughter of one human and one Weyrd parent, she has very little power herself, but does claim unusual strength - and the ability to walk between us and the other - as a couple of her talents. As such a rarity, she is charged with keeping the peace between both races, and ensuring the Weyrd remain hidden from us.

But now Sirens are dying, illegal wine made from the tears of human children is for sale - and in the hands of those Weyrd who hold with the old ways - and someone has released an unknown and terrifyingly destructive force on the streets of Brisbane.

And Verity must investigate - or risk ancient forces carving our world apart.

5 Reasons to Read the Verity Fassbinder Series + AU GiveawayCorpselight by Angela Slatter
Series: Verity Fassbinder #2
Published by Hachette Australia, Quercus on July 13, 2017
Source: Publisher
Genres: Paranormal, Urban Fantasy
Amazon | Book Depository | Publisher | Booktopia
Add to Goodreads


'Simply put: Slatter can write! Beautifully, stylishly, accurately. She forces us to recognise the monsters that are ourselves' –
Jack Dann, award-winning author.

Sequel to VIGIL, this fast-paced urban fantasy is perfect for fans of Harry Dresden and Kinsey Malhone.Life in Brisbane is never simple for those who walk between the worlds.

Verity's all about protecting her city, but right now that's mostly running surveillance and handling the less exciting cases for the Weyrd Council – after all, it's hard to chase the bad guys through the streets of Brisbane when you're really, really pregnant.

An insurance investigation sounds pretty harmless, even if it is for 'Unusual Happenstance'. That's not usually a clause Normals use – it covers all-purpose hauntings, angry genii loci, ectoplasmic home invasion, demonic possession, that sort of thing – but Susan Beckett's claimed three times in three months. Her house keeps getting inundated with mud, but she's still insisting she doesn't need or want help . . . until the dry-land drownings begin.

V's first lead takes her to Chinatown, where she is confronted by kitsune assassins. But when she suddenly goes into labour, it's clear the fox spirits are not going to be helpful . . .

Corpselight is the sequel to Vigil and the second book in the Verity Fassbinder series by award-winning author Angela Slatter.

5 Reasons to Read the Verity Fassbinder Series + AU GiveawayRestoration by Angela Slatter
Series: Verity Fassbinder #3
Published by Hachette Australia, Quercus on August 14, 2018
Source: Publisher
Genres: Paranormal, Urban Fantasy
Amazon | Book Depository | Publisher | Booktopia
Add to Goodreads

Walking between the worlds has always been dangerous - but this time V's facing the loss of all she holds dear.

Verity Fassbinder thought no boss could be worse than her perfectionist ex-boyfriend - until she grudgingly agreed to work for a psychotic fallen angel. And dealing with a career change not entirely of her own choosing is doing nothing to improve V's already fractious temper. The angel is a jealous - and violent - employer, so she's quit working for the Weyrd Council and sent her family away, for their own safety. Instead of indulging in domestic bliss, she's got to play BFFs with the angel's little spy, Joyce the kitsune assassin . . . and Joyce comes with her own murderous problems.

The angel has tasked V with finding two lost treasures, which would be hard enough even without a vengeful Dusana Nadasy on her heels. And Inspector McIntyre won't stop calling: the bodies of Normal women who disappeared decades before are turning up, apparently subjected to Weyrd magics. Angelic demands or not, this isn't something she can walk away from.

And the angel is getting impatient for results . . .

Restoration is available from Australian bookstores for RRP$29.99 or from The Book Depository.

About the Author

 Angela Slatter is the award-winning author of eight short story collections, including A Feast of Sorrows: StoriesSourdough and Other StoriesThe Bitterwood Bible and Other Recountings, and Winter Children and Other Chilling Tales. She has won the World Fantasy Award, the British Fantasy Award and five Aurealis Awards. Her short stories have appeared widely, including in annual British, Australian and North American Best Of anthologies, and her work has been translated into Spanish, Russian, Polish, Romanian, and Japanese. Vigil was her first solo novel, and the sequel Corpselight is due out in July 2017. Angela lives in Brisbane, Australia.

Giveaway – Australians only

To celebrate the release of Restoration, we’re giving a lucky reader of Happy Indulgence the chance to win the book! This giveaway is only open to Australians only and the prize will be sent out from the publisher. Giveaway ends 31 August 2018 and winner will be emailed directly. Verified entries only – fake entries will be disqualified! 

Fill in the form below to enter the giveaway:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Follow the blog tour below

The following two tabs change content below.
Jeann is an Aussie blogger, gamer, reader who loves to read, write, fangirl, geek out and eat food. You can find me glued to one of my many mobile devices 24/7, or fangirling over the latest YA book, TV show, movie or game. Chat with me on Twitter @happyindulgence

Tags: , , ,


5 responses to “5 Reasons to Read the Verity Fassbinder Series + AU Giveaway

  1. I love seeing urban fantasy books set within Australia, they have that feeling of home that we can all relate to. Verity sounds like a brilliant character, a perfect mix of street smarts and intellect. I’m curious to see how the missing children cases effect her emotionally, being a mother and juggling such a demanding career will appeal to a wide range of female readers as well. Brilliant review Jeann, so glad you’ve enjoyed the series ♡♡♡
    Kelly recently posted…Muse of NightmaresMy Profile

    • I know, there’s not many of them around and I’ve enjoyed the ones that I’ve read that are! It was great to see such a relatable protagonist as well who also has her flaws. Thank you Kelly!

  2. I’m glad you liked these books, Jeann! The publisher reached out to me about reviewing the third book but I didn’t have time to read the first two before publication date so I had to turn it down. But at least I found out about the series because I love the sound of it! Even though I’m not a Brisbanite, I would still love to read a paranormal book in a setting so close to home. It’s always Melbourne that gets the Aussie fantasy and paranormal stories! I’m glad you could relate to the setting so much.

    I love a good spec fic book that can also interweave real life issues like family. Books with a strong family focus tend to be the ones I end up adoring.

    Thanks so much for the post, lovely! I’m even more keen for the first book now 🙂
    Chiara @ Books for a Delicate Eternity recently posted…My Fave Queer Fantasy Books (Part Two)My Profile

    • Thanks Chiara, it’s a series that I’ve enjoyed from the start and if you love Buffy/Angel, I think you might enjoy it as well! There are definitely a lot of familiar landmarks even if you have been here a few times 🙂 and the real life issues make it the more relatable. Thank you so much!