Shuffle, Repeat Review: Live Life to the Fullest in High School

September 12, 2016 by Aila J. | 4 stars, Books, Reviews

Shuffle, Repeat Review: Live Life to the Fullest in High SchoolShuffle, Repeat by Jen Klein
Published by Random House Books for Young Readers on May 3rd 2016
Source: Borrowed
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Amazon | Book Depository
Add to Goodreads

When Harry Met Sally for YA romance readers. This opposites-attract love story is perfect for fans of Huntley Fitzpatrick, Stephanie Perkins, and Jenny Han.

June wants high school to end and real life to begin. Oliver is soaking up senior year’s glory days. They could have coasted through high school, knowing about—but not really knowing—each other.   Except that their moms have arranged for Oliver to drive June to school. Every. Single. Day.

Suddenly these two opposites are fighting about music, life . . . pretty much everything. But love is unpredictable. When promises—and hearts—get broken, Oliver and June must figure out what really matters. And then fight for it.

Think: fluffy, clumsy, idiosyncratic and heartwarming. I think those are good words that sum up this book. It’s a fairly quick read, and having a contemporary setting and easy-to-follow dialogue make it go even quicker. The author had some great things to say about high school and the behavior of teenagers in general. It was also pretty easy to relate to, and the characters (especially June) were really down to heart and enjoyable to read about.

We start the book out with Oliver picking up June for the first day of school in his massive truck. They’re two completely different characters who have different views of life. While Oliver wants to enjoy high school to the fullest – especially senior year – June can’t wait for life after graduation. Written in a first person point of view, it was really easy to understand June’s feelings and I really felt a connection to her. You’re not the only one girl – I’m mentally done with high school as well.

‘In the real world, in the grand scheme of life, this year is going to count for exactly nothing. These are the friendships that don’t last and the choices that don’t count.’

But through various arguments and realizations, both June and Oliver start realizing some truths about themselves that they would never have thought about without the help of each other. June starts realizing that there is meaning to everything she does, especially for senior year of high school. Her thinking does have some merit, but it’s also important to live in the now, rather than look too far into the future and miss out on the present. It was really endearing to see her join these school functions she previously looked down upon and see herself having fun. Oliver and June’s interactions were pretty adorable and really did make me smile – talk about goals!

But I never liked that kind of boy. I liked boys with messy hair, boys who played guitar or who refused to wear leather or who didn’t believe in God. Boys would wouldn’t conform. Oliver’s particular brand of all-American never did anything for me.
Until now.

The only complaint I would say is the lack of page time with the main couple. There is great chemistry between June and Oliver, but it takes them the majority of the book to figure it out and get together (boo!). The book starts off with them in different relationships, but I think the author sorted it out throughout the book very well. There is no cheating (hurrah!), and the change in emotions and feelings of each character as they continue to get to know each other better was really realistic to me. I could totally see that happening – in fact, I’ve experienced those kinds of emotions myself. Which is why I could really connect to June’s thoughts, even if they were silly or really self-conscious. Because at some point, we were all like that (or still are, in my case).

Another point I enjoyed though was the fact that we never see the characters written under stereotypes. June’s boyfriend Itch is against the “popular kids” who party all the time, but we find out that he was one of those people in the past and has a reason for his disdain. Oliver is considered a “jock,” yet we see his intelligent view on life. Oliver’s girlfriend is a “perfect cheerleader,” but we also see her nice and empathetic side. Theo may be a “dumb jock,” but there’s a reason behind his crude words as well. I think the author captured high school in a great light – we see both the drama and hysterics, as well as the making up and breaking up. At the same time, we also see the characters go through self-discovery and realizations that might just change the way they look at the world.

‘The truth is that this is the single stupidest thing I’ve ever done, showing up right before everything changes and our lives turn upside down and time runs out, but I have to, because I’ve finally figured out that some things are uncontrollable, and one of those things is my heart and the fact that it absolutely, without question, loves you.’

epilogue

The title is a really cute mention of the playlist that June and Oliver share on the car ride to school, due to their differing musical tastes. Each time one of them wins a round that strengthens their view of high school, they add a song they like to the playlist. Overall, the book features the best and worst times of high school, and I really pictured it like one of those dramatic high school movies that serve as romcoms. And let’s be real, who wouldn’t want to read a light and warm contemporary book every once in awhile?

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

50px-powerstarsmg50px-powerstarsmg50px-powerstarsmg0.5starrating

Aila-Sig

The following two tabs change content below.
Aila is a young adult reader who loves to transport herself to new dimensions through reading. She's currently an undergraduate student at university in the US. Let's talk about our obsessions on Twitter @aila_1woaa!

Tags: , ,


15 responses to “Shuffle, Repeat Review: Live Life to the Fullest in High School

  1. […] While the previous book had an introduction to music and similar tastes, this contemporary features polar characters who develop feelings for each other! June and Oliver are in very different social circles, have different outlooks on life, and have different tastes in music. They make a bet in the beginning of the school year that every time someone one-ups the other, they can add a song of their choice to the playlist they use on the drive to school. An eclectic playlist of music starts developing, just as they develop romantic feelings for each other. I thought this book was super cute and used music as a great way to show how opposites attract in this story. Review can be found here. […]

    • Thannks Olivia! And that is very true – high school has certainly given me a lot of self-introspection haha. 😛

  2. Oh man, this sounds adorbs, Aila! I just finished The Only Thing Worse Than Me is You and this book popped up in the "you might also like" section on the side! This book sounds right up my alley and I might check it out if I ever come across it in store!

    • WAIT DID YOU LIKE THE ONLY THING WORSE THAN ME IS YOU THOUGH? Because I totally adored it. And you know how picky I am with my contemporaries (lol). It's definitely something that I could see you enjoying!

  3. This book sounds so relatable Aila for you, which is great because it's important to read about characters similar to yourself. It definitely sounds adorable and I like the message of living in the now. Lovely review Aila! (have I told you I love your reviews?)

    • BUT I LOVE YOUR FACE AND PERSONALITY JEANN <3 <3 And omg I could not believe how much I related to the characters! It would have honestly been a 4 if there weren't so little time with the main couple!

  4. This sounds like a really light and quick read. I'm definitely going to have to give it a try when I'm in the mood for something cute and fun. Thanks for bringing this to my attention Aila and, as always, fabulous review! <3

    • This is the perfect book for the mood for something cute and fun 😀 I'm really glad I could bring it to your attention Zoe!