From Blood and Ash Review: I’ve Become Trash for This Series

January 25, 2021 by Jeann @ Happy Indulgence | 4 stars, Books, Reviews

From Blood and Ash Review: I’ve Become Trash for This SeriesFrom Blood and Ash by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Series: Blood and Ash #1
Published by Blue Box Press on September 24, 2020
Source: Purchased
Genres: Fantasy, Fantasy & Magic, Romance, Fiction
Amazon
Add to Goodreads


Captivating and action-packed, From Blood and Ash is a sexy, addictive, and unexpected fantasy perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Laura Thalassa.


A Maiden…

Chosen from birth to usher in a new era, Poppy’s life has never been her own. The life of the Maiden is solitary. Never to be touched. Never to be looked upon. Never to be spoken to. Never to experience pleasure. Waiting for the day of her Ascension, she would rather be with the guards, fighting back the evil that took her family, than preparing to be found worthy by the gods. But the choice has never been hers.

A Duty…

The entire kingdom’s future rests on Poppy’s shoulders, something she’s not even quite sure she wants for herself. Because a Maiden has a heart. And a soul. And longing. And when Hawke, a golden-eyed guard honor bound to ensure her Ascension, enters her life, destiny and duty become tangled with desire and need. He incites her anger, makes her question everything she believes in, and tempts her with the forbidden.

A Kingdom…

Forsaken by the gods and feared by mortals, a fallen kingdom is rising once more, determined to take back what they believe is theirs through violence and vengeance. And as the shadow of those cursed draws closer, the line between what is forbidden and what is right becomes blurred. Poppy is not only on the verge of losing her heart and being found unworthy by the gods, but also her life when every blood-soaked thread that holds her world together begins to unravel.

If there’s something that catches my eye fast on Instagram, it’s a book with a beautiful cover. Especially when it’s posted over and over again on bookstagram.

Loved by many, I was so keen to finally pick up From Blood and Ash and to meet the famous Poppy and Hawke that had captured everyone’s attention.

So what is it about?

It’s a fantasy romance with lots of smut, for fans who liked the ACOTAR series by SJM. The Maiden (who is also Poppy to her friends and family) has been revered and hidden from society before her Ascension to power, and her every move is controlled by the Duke and Duchess. When she meets a super handsome and young guard called Hawke, she’s immediately intrigued by him, especially when he becomes a big part of her life.

There’s also rumblings of unrest in the Kingdom where townsfolk are attacked by the Craven, zombie-like beings who cause fear of death. To add things to the mix, there’s also The Dark One, who threatens to kidnap Poppy and attack the Kingdom that they know.

“You’re an absolutely stunning, murderous little creature.”

Why is it so good?

  • Slow burn romance
  • Lots of smut
  • Takes time to build
  • Unpredictable plot with LOTS of twists and turns
  • Kickass heroine
  • Tall dark and handsome love interest

If that isn’t enough for you, then let me explain just how enjoyable I found From Blood and Ash! The writing was completely addictive, giving us insight into Poppy’s relationships and desperation to experience life outside of the castle. Although she might seem innocent, naive and demure to others, especially as The Maiden, I liked how she armed herself with the knowledge to explore the world on her own. She’s also trained by her mentor Vikter, in case anything becomes of her, and I liked how she could both defend herself in a fight but also tilt her chin to those who try to intimidate her.

Whether it’s one of Poppy’s Guards, her best friend and handmaiden, or her tenuous relationship with the Duke and Duchess, it’s easy to get into Poppy’s head.

How about the romance?

The primary relationship in romance books have the ability to make or break the whole thing, but when it comes to Poppy and Hawke, I was all on board. Who doesn’t want a demure maiden with a sexy, muscular Royal Guard? *swoons* Hawke is mysterious, sexy and confident, and he knows exactly what he wants, both in person and in the bedroom. As Poppy discovers during their first meeting at a brothel during the first few chapters.

I like how it took time to build the romance over the time, and didn’t just have Poppy throwing herself at him (not that any of us were prepared to do so….not at all). Hawke gets to know Poppy very well, including her secret hobby in escaping the castle and fighting off Craven. He’s very firm with protecting her and isn’t afraid to get close to her either, like her other Guards.

“Only the bad can be influenced, Princess.”

As for the steamy scenes, I practically waited the whole book for it and it definitely doesn’t disappoint! Now I know why everyone was swooning over Hawke.

 

From Blood and Ash is a steamy fantasy romance that has gotten a lot of hype lately, for good reason.  I was thoroughly addicted to the plot, the characters and the romance while reading the book and will definitely be picking up the sequel ASAP!

Rating: 5 out of 5

From Blood and Ash is available for purchase from Amazon.

The following two tabs change content below.
Jeann is an Aussie YA blogger and mum who loves to read and recommend books! You can usually find me fangirling about books on my various social media channels including Twitter @happyindulgence, Instagram and Youtube.

Tags: , , ,


3 responses to “From Blood and Ash Review: I’ve Become Trash for This Series

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge